They were also among the winners of the $100,000 International Activist Award, presented biannually by the Gleitsman Foundation. They shared the award with at least two other senior members of the Peres Center, Yossi Beilin and the current President of the Center, Uri Savir, along with Israeli peace activists Yitzhak Frankenthal and Galia Golan, Palestinians Mahmoud Abbas (Abu Mazen), Bassem Eid, Ahmed Qurie (Abu Ala), and the late Faisal Husseini, as well as American citizen, Stanley K. Sheinbaum. Among the seven judges who selected the prize winners was Shimon Peres.

In 1994, Shimon Peres, former U.S. President Jimmy Carter, and philanthropist Dominique de Menil were among the presenters of a one-time special $100,000 peace award from The Carter-Menil Human Rights Foundation to FAFO, Norway’s Institute of Applied Social Science, “for its work in brokering the September 1993 declaration of principles between the PLO and Israel.” The Director-General of FAFO was Terje Roed-Larsen.